So Close

Waited for months,

Finally ready to get there.

But unfortunate fate,

Got me somewhere else.

So badly,

Wanted to go for this holiday,

But for some reason,

It didn’t work that way.

My heart crushed,

Myself in pain I found,

But after only a while,

Did I realise,

That it wasn’t worth,

The tears I shred.

Instead,

I got to spend time with my siblings,

And my cousins,

Whom I love so much,

Maybe that time I cried,

But now happy I didn’t go,

Even if not happy,

Neither sad am I,

Because I enjoyed,

Just as much as I would,

And maybe,

If I went,

I’d miss out on memories,

With my family,

And regret it.

Sometimes it’s better,

That what you want,

Doesn’t happen.

Because not always what we want,

Is the right thing to do.

And sometimes,

Even if you come so close to getting something,

It’s better to not get it.

Published by: Paaras

Hello there! I'm Paaras! So I started doing poetry a few years ago and now I wanted to see what others think about them. I feel poetry is the best way to express thoughts and expressions. What a story can't do i feel a poem can do!

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

